• Introductions

Rissa Stiefel updated 3 years ago 24 Members · 24 Posts
  • N4t4l14

Administrator
    May 30, 2018 at 10:43 pm

Welcome to the Climate Resilience Course – May – July 2018. This is a place to introduce yourself to your fellow cohort – you could share where you’re from, what you’re growing, why you’re taking this course – the space is yours! Just reply to this forum to start interacting with your peers.

• Alana

May 31, 2018 at 9:48 am

Hi all! I am a PhD student at UC Berkeley and I have farmed for several of the past few summers up on Lopez Island in Washington State. I have grown mostly organic vegetables, and ran a small veggie operation last summer for the Land Trust, selling at a farm stand, farmer’s market, and direct to local catering/food businesses. I’m taking this course because I’m researching on-farm climate education and hoping to work in the farmer climate education space after completing my PhD. Look forward to connecting and learning from you all over the span of this course!

• Laura

May 31, 2018 at 5:14 pm

Hello Laura here from Follow Your Heart Farm in Quincy, Ca. My wife Ann and I are in the second chapter of our work lives and have spent the last 3 years developing our farm. We currently have 1/4 acre in production with 1/8th acre mixed vegetables and 1/8th acre with a mixed fruit orchard, berries, and hops. We have an additional 1/2 acre dedicated to our new pasture raised pork operation. We have American Guinea Hogs along with AGH/KuneKune crosses. We have a flock of hens that we keep for eggs for ourselves and a handful of dedicated customers. We have a short growing season in the mountains and season extension is a must. Climate change is real and the weather patterns appear more erratic. I hope to learn how to continue to farm in this changing environment.

• Seth

June 1, 2018 at 5:42 pm